EXPLORING THE DEEP HISTORY AND NATURE OF THE LOWCOUNTRY.
Opened in 1989, the 195-acre park commemorates the building of the first true canal in America and showcases the area’s extensive history and habitat. Among its attractions are the Stony Landing House, built-in 1843, and four miles of boardwalks that meander through the quiet backwaters of Biggin Creek and its surrounding swamp. The park’s centerpiece is its Interpretive Center which chronicles the area’s history as far back as 4000 B.C. Beyond its historical offerings, the park has become a popular destination for bird watchers, hikers, paddlers, and other outdoor enthusiasts.